

Tioga County Industrial Development Agency January 8, 2025 – 4:00 pm Ronald E Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street, Owego, NY 13827 Legislative Conference Room, 1<sup>st</sup> Floor Annual Meeting Minutes

## Call to Order and Introductions: 4:18 pm

#### Attendance

- A. IDA Board Members
  - 1. Roll Call: J. Ward, M. Townsend, B. Evanek, K. Gillette, M. Sauerbrey, T. Monell, E. Knolles
  - 2. Excused:
  - 3. Guests: C. Yelverton, Joe Meagher, B. Woodburn

#### **New Business:**

- A. Monthly Meeting Designation
  - a. Date- first Wednesday of each month
  - b. Time- 4:30 p.m.
  - c. Location- Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building, 56 Main Street, Owego, Legislative Conference Room, 1st Floor
  - d. Media Designation
    - i. Press & Sun Bulletin

Motion to set the regular monthly meetings for the first Wednesday of each month at 4:30 pm in the Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building, 56 Main Street, Owego, Legislative Conference Room, 1<sup>st</sup> floor, and to designate the Press & Sun Bulletin as the official media source for the purpose of publishing all notices and other matters as required by law. (E. Knolles, K. Gillette)

> Aye – 7 Abstain – 0 No – 0 Carried

- B. Governance Committee Recommendations
  - a. Slate of Officers 2025 Proposed List of TCIDA Committee Members
    - i. Chair- Jon Ward
    - ii. Vice Chair- Kevin Gillette
    - iii. Secretary- Eric Knolles
    - iv. Treasurer- Brenda Evanek
    - b. Committee Appointments
      - i. Governance- M. Townsend, E. Knolles, J. Ward
      - ii. Audit- E. Knolles, B. Evanek, J. Ward
      - iii. Railroad- T. Monell, K. Gillette, M. Sauerbrey
      - iv. Finance- M. Townsend, J. Ward, K. Gillette
      - v. Loan- K. Dougherty, D. Barton. J. Ward, E. Knolles, B. Evanek, Jim Lavo



- vi. Public Relations- M. Sauerbrey, B. Woodburn, T. Monell
- c. Other Appointments
  - i. Designee (per Employee Handbook) Open until the IDA has an employee
  - ii. Compliance Officer- Joe Meagher
  - iii. Contracting Officer- Joe Meagher
  - iv. Freedom of Information Officer- B. Woodburn
  - v. Code of Ethics Officer- Joe Meagher
  - vi. Internal Controls Officer- J. Nolis

# Motion to approve 2025 Slate of Officers, 2025 Committee Appointments, and 2025 Other Appointments as proposed. (E. Knolles, T. Monell)

## Aye – 7 Abstain – 0 No – 0 Carried

C. Annual Policy Review

- a. Mission Statement
- b. By-Laws:
  - i. It is recommended to modify by-laws to state that all committees must meet annually and not quarterly. Modification is for the Governance, Finance and Audit committee.
  - ii. Add in consultant term where business administrator is listed
  - iii. J. Meagher is working on the language for the modifications.
- c. Code of Ethics
- d. Assessment of Internal Controls
- e. Procurement Policy
- f. Property Disposition Policy
- g. Whistle Blowers Policy
- h. Employee Handbook
- i. Governance Committee Charter
- j. Procedure Manual
- k. TCIDA Sexual Harassment Policy

Motion to approve amending by-laws to require committees to meet annually and to add "consultant" terminology in conjunction with "business administrator" and to approve the annual policy review, as proposed (E. Knolles, K. Gillette).

## Aye – 7 Abstain – 0 No – 0 Carried

- D. Other Annual Review
  - a. Report on Conflict-of-Interest Incidents- no incidents to report.
  - b. Self-Evaluation of Performance 2024 Governance Committee Self-Evaluation Report



# Motion to approve 2024 Governance Committee Self-Evaluation Report. (M. Townsend, K. Gillette)

Aye – 7 Abstain – 0 No – 0 Carried

- E. Audit Committee
  - a. Appointments
    - i. Audit Firm- insero&co
    - ii. Financial Expert- J. Nolis
  - b. Annual Policy Review
    - i. Audit Committee Charter
    - ii. Self-Evaluation of Performance 2024 Audit Committee Self Evaluation Report

Motion to approve Insero & Co as the audit firm and J. Nolis as financial expert as proposed, and to accept 2024 Audit Committee Self Evaluation Report (B. Evanek, T. Monell).

Aye – 7 Abstain – 0 No – 0 Carried

- F. Finance Committee
  - a. Official Depositories and Authorized Designation Signors
    - i. Chemung Canal Trust Company
    - 1. Martha Sauerbrey, Mari Townsend, Eric Knolles, Jon Ward ii. Community Bank
      - 1. Martha Sauerbrey, Mari Townsend, Eric Knolles, Jon Ward
    - iii. Tioga State Bank1. Martha Sauerbrey, Mari Townsend, Eric Knolles, Jon Ward
  - b. Annual Policy Review
    - i. Investment Policy
    - ii. Finance Committee Charter
    - iii. Investment Annual Report
    - iv. Self-Evaluation of Performance 2024 Finance Committee Self Evaluation Report
  - c. Annual Certifications
    - i. Internal Controls Certification
    - ii. Annual Evaluation of Board Performance
    - iii. Fiduciary Responsibilities Certification

Motion to approve Chemung Canal Trust Company, Community Bank, and Tioga State Bank as official depositories for Tioga County IDA as proposed, to approve the designated signors on the accounts as J. Ward, M. Townsend, E. Knolles, and M. Sauerbrey, to authorize the investment policy, finance committee charter, the investment annual report, self-evaluation of performance 2024 finance committee self-evaluation report, Internal Certifications, Annual Evaluation of Board Performance, and Fiduciary Responsibilities Certification (T. Monell, E. Knolles).



#### Aye – 6 Abstain – 1 (J. Ward) No – 0 Carried

G. Miscellaneous

- i. Contact information 2025 TCIDA Board of Directors & Staff
- ii. Listing of IDA Properties-2024

Motion to acknowledge the 2025 TCIDA Board Directors and Staff Contact Information and 2024 IDA Property List (E. Knolles, T. Monell).

> Aye – 7 Abstain – 0 No – 0 Carried

H. Adjourned: M. Sauerbrey motioned to adjourn the meeting at 4:30 pm.